Facebook Bug Leaks 14 Million Users New Private Posts in Public by Default

0 8,579

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Bytes: A New Facebook bug allows automatically suggested around 14 Million users new posts set in public by default from May 18 to May 22.

Facebook provides a privacy setting to set the users post in various categories such as “Public” (anyone), “Friends”, or “Friends and Connections”.

Due to this Facebook’s internal Error, the post could be read by anyone can see regardless of default setting which already set by users.

For Example, when the users set their privacy setting as “Private” then they will share their post which should remain private.

But the post could be read by anyone and it doesn’t care about the user’s Default privacy setting due to this Bug.

According to CNN, Facebook posts typically default to the last “audience” a post was shared with, such as family members, friends, or friends except for their boss. That default was changed to the public for the 14 million users, but if affected users noticed, they could have manually switched the setting themselves.

This Error Occurred when Facebook tried to implement the new futures on the user’s profile, like a photo.

Since the future items are public, the suggested audience for all new posts –0 not just these items – was set to public.

Also, Facebook cleared that this bug did not impact anything people had posted before, and they could still choose their audience just as they always have.

Facebook bug has been fixed and they changed the audience back to what they’d been using before for all the affected users.

We’ve heard loud and clear that we need to be more transparent about how we build our products and how those products use your data – including when things go wrong. And that is what we are doing here. Facebook said.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time